Is striving for success immoral?

• Thread starter Thread starter saintlouisblues19
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

saintlouisblues19

So I have been studying the stock market for several months and I work my butt off everyday to learn as much as I can, I want to trade stocks when I get older. But someone told me the rich man can’t go to heaven. Now I’m not saying I’m gonna be rich, but is striving for a successful career immoral if it makes a lot of money? ($300k+/year) Would donating a lot of money and still keeping God as your biggest focus change this? Thanks but hearing this kind of set me off on the wrong foot looking ahead

There’s nothing wrong with success, the problem would be misusing people and abusing people for that success.

But keeping God first and donating a lot of money even if you are pursuing a lot of money is okay?

the rich man can’t go to heaven
I think He said it would be easier for a camel to walk through the eye of a needle then for a rich man to get into heaven.

Remember a rich man asked Jesus what do I need to get into heaven… Jesus said, give away all you own and follow me… the man couldn’t do that so he didn’t.

As long as being rich isn’t more important to you then following Jesus, you’ll be fine. Thank God, if the stock market is the businesses you want to get into, they are closed on Sunday. 😉

Last edited:
Striving for success has been on my mind since the late 70’s. I have contemplated the gospel on the rich and the lives of the saints and the poor.
If we are moral in our decisions and we don’t violate the ten commandments why would success be any problem?
However, owning things, beyond our absolute necessities, can be heavy on the soul. Material things tie us to the earth. Freedom from material things can be a liberating existence.
I believe it is God’s will to develop our talents. Most of that requires money.

No, it is not immoral.