Letter accusing Pope Francis of heresy

• Thread starter Thread starter EZweber
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

EZweber

A number of well known theologians recently sent an open letter to Pope Francis accusing him of heresy. While I don’t consider it my place currently to make judgements on the orthodoxy of the Pope, there was one very disturbing idea in the letter. It seems to propose deposing Pope Francis if he doesn’t clarify certain ideas. I have been considering requesting these theologians and LifeSite News (which seems to support it) to clarify that they do not consider deposing the Pope a possibility. I have never done something like this before, so does anyone have advice?

Or maybe the problem is that he sometimes speaks metaphorically, or in a context in which what he says is correct, but I know you will never acknowledge that :roll_eyes:

I have been considering requesting these theologians and LifeSite News (which seems to support it) to clarify that they do not consider deposing the Pope a possibility. I have never done something like this before, so does anyone have advice?
My advice is to ignore them, forget about them, and be at peace.

As a convert of almost 11 years, I can attest that Pope Francis is very different from Pope
Emeritus XVI who I thought highly of. They are very different and I have to admit Pope Francis had made some statements which have left me scratching my head.
I watched two movies about Pope Francis on
Netflix. One was sort of a biography of Pope Francis as a young man and his life until he was elected Pope. I believe it was called
“Call me Francis” . It was interesting, especially life in Argentina during political
upheaval. The other was a documentary that
was shown in theatres called “Pope Francis,
A Man of His Word”. When it was made, I had wondered if the purpose might be for damage
control.
My impression of Pope Francis improved after watching both shows. He is a man.