Marriage a Bar to the Eucharist?

• Thread starter Thread starter Viki59
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
V

Viki59

Please help. I am devastated because I went to confession tonight to our associate priest and he refused me absolution, and said it would be a sin to receive the eucharist, although I’ve been doing so for the seven years since I converted.
The reason is that my husband and I were married in a protestant church when I was a protestant eleven years ago, then four years later I converted, but we never remarried in the Catholic church. Our priest has said it would be a good idea to have our marriage blessed, but my husband, who is a lukewarm cradle Catholic, never thought it was important so we never did. But our priest never said we couldn’t receive the sacraments or that it would be a sin to do so. The associate priest said he’s not from this country and that he may be incorrect, but that he would discourage me from receiving the eucharist.
I would be grateful if anyone can shed some light on my situation.

If your husband did not get a dispensation of form, then it is important to get the marriage validated. This is only difficult if there are impediments to a valid marriage. If for example, one of you was previously married to someone else, then that previous marriage would have to be found invalid.

There is not enough information in your post to give you a firm answer. Examples: Was this a first marriage for both of you? Did your husband receive the proper dispensations from his bishop when you were married (to marry a non-Catholic and to marry in a non-Catholic ritual)?

Don’t feel compelled to answer these questions publicly. But these are questions that you and your husband need to take to the pastor of your parish. If need be, the pastor or a designated member of the parish staff will help you rectify your marriage situation.

Thank you for the responses.