• Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tom.wineman

Does anyone like a non-music Mass ?
A Mass where everything is recited, not sung, and where

**you can completely focus on the words of the Mass without **
**the distraction **of flamboyant musicians and choir performers.

TOM

Well, if the choice is between flamboyant performers or just a recited Mass, I would choose reciting. But I prefer music at Mass, as long as it is good music!

My son, age 13, LOVES the “silent Mass,” as he calls it. This really hurts me because I am a liturgical musician! :rotfl:

I love week-day Masses – the absence of music makes the Word more intense some how.

'thann

I’m a liturgical musician, too. I’ve been a cantor and choir singer for more than 25 years. When I sing in the choir, I find myself very distracted, as if I have not really “attended” Mass. That’s the reason I do my choir singing in the Episcopal Church (that and the nice, fat paycheck, I should say) and limit my participation in my own parish to being the cantor.

I agree with 'thann above that it is wonderful to attend daily Mass with no music at all - it’s a great opportunity to concentrate on prayer without having to think about the music.

Betsy

40.png
baltobetsy:
That’s the reason I do my choir singing in the Episcopal Church (that and the nice, fat paycheck…
:confused:

What on earth are you doing that for? Money? Not to sound harsh (though I realize this will sound harsh), would you be a cashier in an adult movie store since the money might be good? How about a receptionist at an abortion clinic since the money might be good? I can’t understand why someone would wish to even appear to support an ecclesial community that is heretical.

40.png
baltobetsy:
When I sing in the choir, I find myself very distracted, as if I have not really “attended” Mass.
I really believe a lot of this has to do with the type of music chosen. Some music can draw you in; some can pull you away.