Our Lady of Lourdes

• Thread starter Thread starter Jessica
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jessica

Hello! I’m a student at a Catholic University, and I’m wondering if anyone out there can help me settle a little dispute with my theology teacher. He is nondenominational Protestant, and one day he told us about the time he took a trip to Lourdes to see if St. Bernadette is really incorrupt. He said he was not allowed to approach the body, and when he tried to look through his binoculars to see her, they were taken from him. He concluded that Bernadette’s incorrupt body is really a conspiracy by the Church, and that the Church covered her body with wax. Obviously, this is ridiculous, but I need something to back myself up with. Have any of you been to Lourdes and can confirm seeing Bernadette’s incorrupt body? Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks and God bless!

40.png
Jessica:
Hello! I’m a student at a Catholic University, and I’m wondering if anyone out there can help me settle a little dispute with my theology teacher. He is nondenominational Protestant,
Nothing like staunch Catholic teaching at school named “Catholic University”… :rolleyes:

St.Bernadette’s body is covered in wax, I believe… what does that matter??

Anytime anyone accuses the Catholic Church of conspiracy huge red flags should be waving!!! I haven’t been to Lourdes, but my brother has and has seen St. Bernadette’s body-- as well as many other incorruptibles- like St. John Vianney, St’ Rita, St. Clare…

I wonder what the fellow would think if he knew that ‘The Song of Bernadette’ was written by a Jewish man?

I wonder what the fellow would think if he knew that ‘The Song of Bernadette’ was written by a Jewish man?
The author, Franz Werfel, converted to the Church on his deathbed.

👍

If I understand correctly, the body was covered with wax only after it was discovered that it had been incorrupt.