Question about Pope PiusXII and Jews

• Thread starter Thread starter Sur-rah
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sur-rah

Hey there. This is my first time to post here so please bear with me (or, if need be, correct me).
I was reading the CatholicAnswers concerning Pius XII and the Jews. catholic.com/library/HOW_Pius_XII_PROTECTED_JEWS.asp
Towards the middle of it, after the 11th quote is cited, it says, that the Vatican made up a number of false documents stating that the Jews were Christians to help them escape. Now, I may be interpretting this incorrectly (and I hope I am), but isn’t creating a false document tantamount to lying? While I certainly understand that the Vatican’s actions were well meaning, isn’t this contrary to the 8th Commandment? If it is not, please explain it to me. If it is contrary to the 8th Commandment, how is that okay?
Thanks so much for your help clarifying!

from the catechism…2464…Offenses against the truth express by word or deed a refusal to commit oneself to moral uprightness: they are fundamental infidelities to God…

In this case one would have been complicit in the sin of murder to state the facts, and is not guilty of bearing false witness because he is in fact committing himself to moral uprightness.

Hope that helps!

40.png
Sur-rah:
Hey there. This is my first time to post here so please bear with me (or, if need be, correct me).
I was reading the CatholicAnswers concerning Pius XII and the Jews. catholic.com/library/HOW_Pius_XII_PROTECTED_JEWS.asp