• Thread starter Thread starter FDS
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
F

FDS

Do you speak/understand Latin?

Just curious how many people do.

Anyone know of any good Latin programs on tape or CD?

My understanding of Latin is limited to the handful of ancient prayers I have tried to learn out of curiosity and respect for a bygone era:

In nomine Patris, et filii, et spiritus sancti. Amen

I don’t know if I even spelled those correctly. It is the Pater Noster (sign of the cross.)

I know more Greek than Latin, and more French than Greek. I consider this a mild shame, because I so enjoy the sound of prayers in Latin.

“Sanctus, Sanctus, Sanctus, Dominus Deus Sabaoth. Pleni sunt coeli et terra gloria tua”

Sorry, my Latin doesn’t go past The Mass, which I understand perfectly because I have been listening to it for 12 years now! Deo gratias!

But I always recognize it as soon as I hear it - my head shoots up like a bullet!

“O salutaris hostia, Quae coeli pandiss ostium: Bella premunt hostilia, Da robur, fer auxilium. Amen”

Mike C:
Yes, I can read, write and speak Latin!
hey Mike,

Where/how did you learn? Catholic school? College? Self-study?

I don’t know any outside of a few basic phrases and I’m looking for a good program.

40.png
FDS:

I was born in the year 1970. so I did not grow up with latin, but I did learn it out of interest on my own by reading. One great way I did was by ordering the Father Lassance Roman Missal for use in the Tridentine Latin Mass. I believe you can get it in the Daughters of St. Paul stores(Paulines). Just some helpful advice. That’s how I got started.
Yes, I do know latin, and I am young!!! By the way, it is good to learn Latin Hymns such as “Tantum Ergo”, O’ Salutaris Hostia, and Panis Angelicus among many others. Also, Sanctus of the Mass, and the Agnus Dei(still supposed to be said in mass=in the Modern Post vatican II Mass of Novus Ordo actually= IN LATIN.

40.png
FDS: