Student Parishes

• Thread starter Thread starter Matthew-John
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Matthew-John

I am concerned about the status of the student parish next to the unvirsity where I am a student. By and large, it appears as though all the Liturgical rules are being followed (except for the lack of a Crucifix behind the alter). But, I am more concerned at the complete lack of competent student faith formation and the ill-health of the student community.
I do not mean physically, but that we gather weekly (and it is a large school, with a possible plurality of Catholics, ie several thousand Catholics) to be with Christ in Mass, and hardly know eachother (beyond the 40 or 50 who are involved with one of the 5 student teams).
There is little momentum to change this, to help us young adults learn what it means to live a life with Christ. Heck, the priest seems to waffle on Catholic-lite (while the visiting priest, a chaplian at a local Catholic high school directly challenges us to live a full life as Catholics).
Are there student parishes out there, that do live in full communion with the Church AND help the student parishoners to learn what it means to be an adult and a Catholic in a very hostile world?

I am an active member of the University of Washington’s Newman Center. We have very active members, four great peer ministers, a priest who loves the college atmosphere. Each Friday night, there is something going on at the Center, tonight a dance. Every Monday night, the chapel is open and we can come and adore Jesus and on Wedneasday, in addition to mass, the Rosary is also prayed. Each quarter, there are two or three major retreats to grow in faith. In other words, it is a healthy parish.