THE EUCHARIST: WHOSE RESPONSIBILITY TO DENY and TO WHOM?

• Thread starter Thread starter Elizabeth
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Elizabeth

Forgive me if the following questions have already been raised/ answered in another thread.
  1. Re pro-choice Catholics: Is it the responsibility of the priest to deny the Eucharist or that of the individual to deny himself? Does the denial affect all pro-choice Catholics or only Politicians?
  2. Does the witholding of the Eucharist from Catholics extend to other areas of sin, e.g. is it denied to those known to be practising contraception? (I know it is the case with those who have not yet had their first marriage annulled and are re-married.)
I am not trying to play ‘devil’s advocate’ : I am new to Catholicism and genuinely wish to know.

Thankyou,

Canon law number 916 describes when people are to self-refrain from Holy Communion:
Canon 916 Anyone who is conscious of grave sin may not celebrate Mass or receive the Body of the Lord without previously having been to sacramental confession, unless there is a grave reason and there is no opportunity to confess; in this case the person is to remember the obligation to make an act of perfect contrition, which includes the resolve to go to confession as soon as possible.
Canon law number 915 describes when the priest is to bar people from Holy Communion:
Canon 915 Those upon whom the penalty of excommunication or interdict has been imposed or declared, and others who obstinately persist in manifest grave sin, are not to be admitted to holy communion.

Anyone conscience of grave (serious, mortal) sin should “deny himself” Communion. To receive Communion when not in the state of grace is to commit the sin of sacrilege.