C
chadmyers
Guest
It turns out I have really bad food allergies which include wheat (gluten) and yeast or fermented things including alcoholic beverages like beer and wine. My doctor advised I remove all these things from my diet for at least 4-6 months and then try to re-introduce a few things and see how it goes.
I told my doctor that I’m Catholic and that it would be problematic for me to not receive the Eucharist. He said he’s familiar with this and that he had another Catholic patient who informed their priest and the priest used “gluten-free” hosts. I explained that this is not licit and what they problem meant is “extremely low gluten” and he replied that no, it was definitely “gluten-free.”
We then politely argued about why it matters that Jesus would choose wheat and why it matters to the Catholic Church and why it matters today especially since the wheat we have today (Monsanto genetically engineered stuff) is so genetically different from the wheat of Jesus’s day and area as to not even be the same thing.
So all this lead-up leads me to the following questions:
I told my doctor that I’m Catholic and that it would be problematic for me to not receive the Eucharist. He said he’s familiar with this and that he had another Catholic patient who informed their priest and the priest used “gluten-free” hosts. I explained that this is not licit and what they problem meant is “extremely low gluten” and he replied that no, it was definitely “gluten-free.”
We then politely argued about why it matters that Jesus would choose wheat and why it matters to the Catholic Church and why it matters today especially since the wheat we have today (Monsanto genetically engineered stuff) is so genetically different from the wheat of Jesus’s day and area as to not even be the same thing.
So all this lead-up leads me to the following questions:
*]Can someone point me to the precise CDF document (dated June 22, 1994 according to a This Rock article) that explains why there must be some wheat gluten in the host? I did some googling and scouring through the Vatican CDF home page, but couldn’t find that particular document.
*]Do you think the good doctor was just mistaken/ignorant about the gluten-free hosts and the Priest anecdote, or should I ask him to inform his other patient that they might be violating their Catholic faith? Or would this just be prying into other people’s business?
*]What would be good retorts to the questions about “Why does wheat matter?” and “Our wheat today doesn’t look anything like the wheat before to the point where it’s not really even wheat anymore?”