Angelic Names

• Thread starter Thread starter DrifterBoy
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

DrifterBoy

A younger freind of mine posed a question to me which I have acctually thought about sometimes. (just so that everyone knows, I am new to the faith and am uncertain on many things) He asked me if I had ever heard that each of us has a gaurdian angel, and if I knew I could learn his or her name. I said no I didn’t know that, and asked if that type of thing (asking what my gaurdian angel’s name is) is permissable by the Church. He said that he had heard it was, and he mentioned specifically that Saint Pio had asked what his was and found out. I am wondering if asking your gaurdian angel to show you his/her name is permissable by the Church. Anyone know? :rolleyes:

It is permissible to ask your guardian angel to reveal their name. However, what is not permissible is to “name” your guardian angel which unfortunately some people try to do. Giving a name to something signifies authority over it, which is why we see in the Book of Genesis that Adam named the animals of the earth.

Not sure if I should start a new thread for this but I am wondering if we each have our own guardian angel? I mean do we each have one special angel to look out for us or do we have many angels looking out for us?

Each of us has one angel as a guardian. One who walks with us from birth until death. We also have the protection / assistance of angels due to our vocations, locations, and station in life. Like patron saints, these angels come into and out of our lives as the need changes, but the Guardian Angel stays with us. We do not need more than one guardian, no matter how rough it seems. Rember that angels are all thought and will and never lose sight of the Beatific Vision. They are more powerful than any obstical that we may face.