Baptist Pastor Here

• Thread starter Thread starter Home2RomeIDK
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Home2RomeIDK

Hello friends. I’m a Baptist pastor. For the last year, I’ve been in a personal struggle. Before I begin, I should note that I’m not one who is dogmatically anti-catholic or anything such as that. I’ve always held Catholicism in high regard. However, I’m beginning to feel as if my time in the Baptist realm is nearing its end. To make a long story short, for the last year I’ve been wrestling with wanting to explore the Catholic and/or Anglican tradition. It all started when I decided to do a deeper study on the Eucharist. I read a fictional book called “Symbol or Substance” by Peter Kreeft. I was intrigued and began to dig more. Then becoming more annoyed with the idea of denominations, etc. I apologize I said this was going to be short. Although I’m still not fully persuaded by some of my hang-ups with the Catholic Church, I suppose I’m just asking for prayer. Prayer as I explore fairly the obstacles that stand in my way. For if I were to “Come home to Rome” it would be quite the transition for my family. Appreciate you listening.

Firstly, welcome to this forum. I hope you find some use in this forum. You might also see one common argument against the Catholic Church🤭. Half-joking, but as a Pastor, I’m sure you’ll understand.

Secondly, my prayers for you as you explore and resolve the obstacles you may have.

Peace.

Prayers being sent up. Have you read Scott Hahn’s book Rome Sweet Home?

Yes, welcome! May God bless you on your journey. I’m a convert, from a non/denominational background(Church of Christ) and I will pray for you.

Absolutely, I will pray for you and your journey, may you find the truth! Jesus said that the truth will set you free.
Peace!

Hello home2romeidk,