Discourse with Mormons

• Thread starter Thread starter Andrew_Larkoski
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Andrew_Larkoski

I am a student at the University of Washington, and as a student at a large, public, and fairly liberal school, I see an incredible amount of “Christian” religions that solicit to students. I myself am very active in the Newman Center on campus and recieve a lot of resources on how to defend Christ’s Church. Of course, I also check Catholic.com for info. Anyway, today, while I was heading home from classes through our student union building, I saw a Mormon table set up, and, knowing that they would come to me, I went to them. The first question I asked the two “Elders” at the table were if they believed if the Bible was the Word of God. Obviously, they responded yes. Seemingly interested, I asked who determined that it was the Word of God, and when they meekly responded that some anonymous men decided this, I told them that in fact, Christ’s One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Chruch had 400 years after Jesus’ death and ressurection. I continued breaking down the Mormon “faith” (if that is what lies by the Evil One could be called) and questioned the massive battles that were supposed to occur in North America, the Book of Mormon (written by the Dan Brown of the time, Joseph Smith), and finally the Mormonism (for NO church deserves to call itself the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints) idea that Christ’s Church was destroyed in an apostacy a century after Christ’s ressurection. About to explode at this time, I held my passion in, and replied that Christ had said to St. Peter that death (a.k.a. Satan) shall not prevail against His Church until He comes again in glory. They then said something that I will never forget, even though I had told them that there is an unbroken line of popes since St. Peter, even though there are 800 million Catholics on every continent of the Earth, but only Mormons in North Amer