Moral issues at work surrounding IVF

• Thread starter Thread starter The_Magdalene
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

The_Magdalene

I currently work as an Assistant at a hospital.
Shortly after commencing in my role, I have faced a number of religious and moral issues. Mainly with processing paperwork for patients for their various procedures such as Surgical Termination of Pregnancy (Abortion), Tubal Ligation and Male Vasectomies. Fortunately, I have been able to dodge them with the help of management who have been very accommodating towards me and moved me to a different department after I expressed to them that I do not feel comfortable with processing the paperwork for these procedures, for which I have been very gracious for.

Now, over the last few months, I have been working closely with a colleague who is a married Catholic and has been in the past and to my knowledge is currently undergoing IVF treatment with her husband. I am not aware if she is aware that this is a mortal sin, but I would expect her to as she distributes Communion at her local Parish Church, and the Church’s stance on IVF is quite clear. She is also quite public at work about this, which by the way, I am not interesting in knowing about not only from a moral perspective but also because I don’t want to know about the fertility difficulties between a colleague who I work with and their spouse, as I feel that it is a very private issue and it makes me feel uncomfortable discussing those kind of matters in a work environment.