Practicing martial arts

• Thread starter Thread starter ccav
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

ccav

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Catholic Answers forum (and to forums in general) so I’d like to take a moment to say “Hi” and thank everyone out there that participates and makes these forums possible.

I have a situation that I have been contemplating for a long time. I was hoping everyone could give me some guidance in this area. Here is my dilemma: I have been practicing martial arts for 17 years now. Over the last 10 years I have become more devoted to the faith and the Church. Now I do not practice any eastern mysticism, nor have I ever, in practicing the martial arts. I take a moment to relax and clear my mind before and after practice, but that is it. ( I know other people who get into meditations, but I have never participated in that) What I wonder about is the aspect of practicing and engraining attacks, defences, throws, holds, chokes, etc into my mind to a degree as to make them become “automatic” (well, that’s the goal anyways). Now I have only used my practice in self defence. That is not a problem. Its the idea of trying to instill it into me that concerns me. Is it healthy spiritually? Is the focus on fighting and violence inherant in martial arts inhibiting my walk with Christ?

I’d really love to hear everyone’s point of view. Any sage advice would also be very much appreciated. God bless! 🙂

40.png
ccav:
Now I have only used my practice in self defence. That is not a problem. Its the idea of trying to instill it into me that concerns me. Is it healthy spiritually? Is the focus on fighting and violence inherant in martial arts inhibiting my walk with Christ?

I’d really love to hear everyone’s point of view. Any sage advice would also be very much appreciated. God bless! 🙂
One of my regular sparring partners in the chancellor of the archdiocese. Sometimes I even let him win. 😛