Protestant claims baptism not necessary - help!

• Thread starter Thread starter Margaret_Ann
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Margaret_Ann

I hope I put this under the right topic.

Today at work a customer asked me what church I belonged to (I.e. he initiated the topic), and I replied that I’m Ukrainian Catholic. He said “oh, that’s too bad” (!) and said that the Catholic Church “added on” extraneous things like Baptism (no kidding!)

He cited St. Paul’s Epistle to the Romans (if you confess with your mouth…) that only acknowledging Jesus as Lord and Savior is all that is necessary to be saved and that one doesn’t need to be baptized.

I couldn’t believe my ears! A Protestant saying that Baptism is not necessary? I cited John 3: 5 and other verses (without getting into an argument about the Sacrament of Baptism vs baptism of desire and baptism of blood).

I couldn’t talk long with him because I had to continue my work (I work in retail).

Any suggestions on how to prove the necessity of Baptism accurately and succinctly?

Last edited:
It will be lots of quoting Bible verses back and forth because solo scriptura nvolves a lot of picking and choosing and isolating, but there is this:

Jesus explicitly commands the apostles to go out and baptize in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

There are also verses that talk about proclaiming Jesus with your lips.

Since Catholics readily acknowledge both of these things, there is no need to isolate one verse from another. We acknowledge holy baptism as a mandatory sacrament instituted by Our Lord, and we also profess Jesus every week at Mass (or the Divine Liturgy). So we dont need to shy away from any passage or part of scripture. We accept and embrace all of it, taking each into the whole.

But he can’t. He has to cling to some passages and ignore or downgrade others, in order to make it all fit into his own theology.

Last edited:
Also Acts 2:38