What do Jews think of the other Abrahamic religions?

• Thread starter Thread starter YHWH_Christ
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
Y

YHWH_Christ

I see that there are a few different Jewish users on here so I want to ask you guys something. What exactly do you think of us? Genuinely curious. Christianity and Islam in particular but also the other smaller faiths (Bahai’s, Rastafari’s, Druze, Samaritans). I’m just curious because even though you guys don’t see Jesus as the Jewish Messiah, nor do you view someone like Muhammad to be a prophet, your religion did give birth to an entire religious tradition that more than half the human population adheres to. Didn’t Maimonides believe there was a significance to this? Do other Jews?

While I am by no means an expert on the Jewish religion, and shall defer the fuller answering of your questions to the forum Jews, I have learned from my studies of Judaism and conversations with Jews here that Jews believe everyone who follows the Noahide Laws and the Ten Commandments has a share in the tikkun ‘olam, or world to come. The reason for this is that Judaism is an orthopraxic religion rather than an orthodoxic one, meaning that to Jews, correct action is more salvific than correct belief.

This may be uncomprehensive or downright incorrect, but this is what I know. I now defer to the forums’ Jews.

Last edited: