Adoration before the Blessed Sacrament?

• Thread starter Thread starter JennyM
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JennyM

As the Pope has suggested and now with one of the Decades of the Luminous Mystery dedicated to it, I was wondering if more people are spending time before the Blessed Sacrament in prayer and meditation?

40.png
JennyM:
As the Pope has suggested and now with one of the Decades of the Luminous Mystery dedicated to it, I was wondering if more people are spending time before the Blessed Sacrament in prayer and meditation?
One hour a week, not counting time before and after Mass.

I’ve had some truly wonderful experiences, but I must confess that I’ve fallen asleep on some occasions (I go from 3-4 a.m. on Sunday mornings). :o

Adoration was a big mover in a brother-in-law’s decision to go through RCIA this past year (yes, he actually did weekly Adoration for a year before making the decision to convert).

I am blessed that our parish now has perpetual adoration. While I do have a scheduled time each week, it is nice to know that I can stop by whenever I get a chance.

While a lot has happened in our parish over the last few years, I attribute much of the spiritual growth that has occurred to having perpetual adoration. The crowd at the daily 6:30 am mass has nearly tripled to about 40 or more in the past year.

I go once a week for an hour, and at other times when something particularly joyfull happens that I want to thank God for. We also get to mass early on Sundays so we can spend a few minutes preparing for the celebration.

Barrister,

I’ve heard that the peace that comes from adoration and prayer make you sleepy, its a good thing!
I love to hear Mother Angelica talk about adoration and wish I would go more often, especially after hearing her!