Praying the Rosary in Latin

• Thread starter Thread starter Pray_in_Latin
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Pray_in_Latin

A few months ago I heard a priest say on EWTN that he knew some small children who loved to pray the Rosary in latin and that if a child can learn it, so can an adult. That, plus seeing “The Passion” and hearing latin, were very inspirational. So, I took up the challange and, lo’ and behold, am discovering that praying in latin is a wonderful experience. I still pray the Rosary in English when in a group setting, but for private prayer its latin all the way.

I started learning with the Sign of the Cross (heard it a million times in the movies) and the Glory Be. Then the Hail Mary, Fatima, Lord’s Prayer, etc. Going to tackle the Apostle’s Creed next.

Anybody else here learning to pray in latin?

Ave Maria!

assuming Rome approved of the Latin Rosary, I would love it if on a special day, night, or other time you could go to church for a Latin Rosary… 👍

space ghost:
assuming Rome approved of the Latin Rosary
It is a private devotional, not something that is subject to liturgical norms.

And yes, I am intrigued with the idea of learning it in Latin.

I pray the Rosary in Latin during Lent and each year try to learn a new prayer in Latin as well. This year was the prayer to St. Michael. Next year, the Angelus, I think. Glad to hear others think this is a good idea, too.👍

I have the Virtual Rosary, which you can download for free! at www.virtualrosary.org. You can choose to display the prayers in like 10 different languages: Latin, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Tagalog, + more i cant remember.

I love to pray in Latin! (I am a student of Latin) I find that Latin prayer really lifts the heart and mind to God.